“Fishbowl” New Music by Rusty Nails

After another month or so of writing, arranging, tweaking and re-arranging my latest track is now available online. It is entitled ‘Fishbowl’ and it can be found here:

https://soundcloud.com/rusty-nails-6/fishbowl

The version that has been uploaded to SoundCloud has been cut down so it doesn’t have the full intro and outro and isn’t as long. This is as much to do with the internet generation and their attention span as it is about a limited amount of upload time on Soundcloud!

If you want to get the full version of the track (8 minutes 52 seconds) then you can go to my Bandcamp page here (https://rustynails1.bandcamp.com/track/fishbowl) and download it. It’s ‘pay what you want’ so just input ‘0’ to download for free. If you’re feeling generous and want to pay for it, then that would be just lovely.

Anyway, back to the track itself…

This track started as an idea on Auxy (www.auxy.co) on my iPad and I exported a few clips from the app and brought them in to my DAW to make some tweaks and additions. This is the first track that I’ve written using the Auxy app and, I have to say, I really quite enjoyed it. The track is written at 110bpm in 4/4.

Having got the clips in, added some new ones, tweaked some others and generally played around with it until I was happy with the general arrangement I then began thinking about the name for the track – having not decided upon one before that point.

I decided to scroll through my Twitter feed and find some inspiration. I was looking for one word and I found it courtesy of @CharleyBezer and her tweet:

(https://twitter.com/CharleyBezer/status/712734951188332545)

Having then decided upon the name I went about trying to find a sample to use within the track. I tried to find quotes from films with people saying the word fishbowl but had no joy at all. Then I stumbled upon ‘Operation Fishbowl’ which was, in my opinion, an insane experiment by the US Military in which they launched and detonated nuclear weapons in space. Quite what they sought to achieve or prove, I have no idea. What I do know is they did it anyway the nutty cunts!

It was on this exploration around Operation Fishbowl that I stumbled upon a declassified US Mlitary video that talked extensively on the operation and became the source of the samples for the track:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAQYK8FfvGw

Once the samples were in place it was then a case of tweaking the track, chopping, splicing and making the little amendments to increase variety in the beat. And here we are!

I hope you enjoy it and, as usual, if you have any comments please feel free to get in touch.

RUSTY!!!

Leave a Reply

